Greenbits and Massachusetts
KC FRANKS OWNER, LUX
"When I communicate with Greenbits, I know they are actually listening."
Q: How do I get support for my store?
A: Distance isn’t a factor once you’re a part of the Greenbits family! Our amazing support staff also manages live chats and phone calls during the later hours of your business so that in the event of an emergency, you’ll never be left without the support you need to succeed.
Q: Can Greenbits automatically update my menus?
A: Yes! We partnered with Leafly, Weedmaps and many other consumer sites. These companies integrate with our open API, which allows for automatic menu updates without any data entry. If you receive new products, they’ll post automatically. Change a sell price, that will update too. You’ll never have to worry about stale menus again!
Q: I have a high-traffic store. Can Greenbits support me and handle my volume?
A: Yes! Greenbits was built with a focus on high-volume retail while providing reliability and speed. Some of our most successful customers average more than 1,000 transactions per day.
Our point-of-sale is the only true Register in the cannabis industry, which means it is designed for speed. Checkout times are more than 5 times faster than other desktop-based systems.
And we are so confident in our reliability that we post it for all the world to see at greenbitsstatus.com. Ask your current provider if they do this.
Running a Massachusetts dispensary can be taxing if you don’t know what you’re doing. Any small business requires a level of professionalism, but a cannabis business is unique in that the laws of each state, county, and even city differ across the U.S.
Without a consensus, even a seasoned pro in one state will still have to study up on other states, and even once you get the hang of a state’s laws, they can quickly change at any given election. Here’s everything you need to know about operating a compliant cannabis business in Massachusetts, and the state’s cannabis laws.
Do I need a license to operate?
Yes, medical marijuana was legalized in 2012 through the Massachusetts Medical Marijuana Initiative, which took effect the following year. Recreational cannabis was legalized in the 2016 election and became effective July 1, 2018.
Who manages cannabis licenses in Massachusetts?
Licenses are issued by the Cannabis Control Commission. Four license types are available: Retail marijuana stores, marijuana product manufacturers, marijuana cultivators, and marijuana testing facilities. The CCC is slowly reviewing applications and issuing provisional licenses.
How do I get a license in Massachusetts?
An online application is available in the state’s MassCIP system. It will walk you through the full application process, including any supporting documentation and registration fees. Applications are then evaluated during the commission’s regularly scheduled meetings. Experienced medical marijuana businesses are given priority, followed by a lottery to determine licensees. Licenses have been very slow to be issued in the state.
How much does a license cost?
Cost varies up to $3000 for each license except retail marijuana store licenses, which cost $15,000 to apply. You’ll also need to obtain any applicable state and local business licenses.
Are there annual licensing fees?
Yes – the fees above are annual fees.
What license type do I need to service recreational and medical patients?
A Registered Marijuana Dispensary Certificate of Registration (wordy, right?) is needed to sell medical marijuana in Massachusetts. A retail marijuana store license (application link above) is needed to sell recreational marijuana.
Will I be able to get a retail license if I already have a dispensary?
Yes – in fact, it gives you a better chance of being selected, as you bypass the general lottery system in a priority queue.
What local (county level) permissions will I need to operate?
It’s best to check with your local city and state government for requirements prior to applying for a state license. Over 200 townships in Massachusetts won’t allow marijuana businesses to operate within their borders.
Do I need a license to host a cannabis event in Massachusetts?
Each city is different, so check with local legislators. There are no statewide rules regarding cannabis events, except that public consumption is forbidden.
Do I need a separate premises license for cannabis events?
The location of your cannabis events determines which license you’ll need to pursue. If you’re attending an event like a High Times Cannabis Cup or Massachusetts Grower Advocacy Council’s Harvest Cup, you’re actually a vendor at that event.
Holding your own offsite events puts you in a High Times position where you need to file the proper city and county licenses. Work with the venue to ensure this is completed in a timely manner.
Can I get a cannabis event license if I hold a retailer license?
Yes, you can hold more than one license of any type. You can hold events on your premises, host offsite events, or attend offsite events proudly representing your business.
How can I ensure that I remain compliant?
Reading, understanding, and consistently applying Massachusetts state cannabis regulations is essential. During the application process, your entire organization will be tested on compliance competency.
Also track everything. Record every interaction. Have every dollar, plant, and product tracked from seed to sale. A solid POS that can automatically interface with the state’s tracking system is only the start of what you’ll need to stay compliant.
What security measures am I required to take?
Required cannabis business security measures will cost at least $100,000. Video surveillance, security lighting, transportation and waste disposal processes, platforms, and procedures need to be in place from day one.
Cloud video data storage will be a significant cost for startup businesses. Plan ahead for this.
Can I package and label cannabis in my retail store?
It’s a funny question, because you’ll be labeling all product that enters and exits your retail store. There are no specific regulations about packaging on premises, but cannabis must be already sealed before transport.
Can I sell alcohol or tobacco at my cannabis retail store?
Yes and no. Generally, you can’t sell alcohol or tobacco at cannabis dispensaries or cannabis at smoke shops, liquor shops, etc. Terpenes (basically cannabis essential oils) and hemp products have different rules. It’s possible to create cannabis-flavored products that don’t include THC.
Also, tinctures contain alcohol, so even though THC vodka or beer (or even vodka or beer without cannabis) would be passe in Massachusetts dispensaries, alcohol-based tinctures are allowed.
Can I vertically integrate my cannabis businesses?
You can. So long as you meet the requirements, you can house everything in one building. Each license can be obtained and stacked on each other.
Can I sample or give product away in store?
You can’t give away products, and the seed-to-sale tracking system ensures each plant is sold.
What are the operating hours for a retail shop?
Your store can be open between the hours of 8am and 6pm, seven days a week.
Can I have public-facing displays on my storefront?
You can’t. The CCC has over 100 pages of cannabis advertising regulations. Product displays can’t face the street, loudspeakers can’t be used, promotional swag can’t be sold, etc. Read these guidelines thoroughly to fully understand what you can and can’t do.
How old does someone need to be to buy cannabis?
18 with a qualifying medical condition, 21 for recreational cannabis.